A Teacher’s Blunder: The Pressure of Time

Screen Shot 2014-12-15 at 12.39.17 AM

Experiencing pressure is normal and it is something that us humans have come to accept and challenge in our everyday lives. Some perform under pressure better than others, and some collapse under such intense moments. Nonetheless, we encounter pressure everyday, whether it may be from work or school, or maybe from peer pressure, but today we will be talking about how time can create pressure

Recently, I had been put into a situation at school in which I had to face the pressure from time that I still haven’t gotten over yet. The reason being was that my Spanish teacher put the entire class in a predicament that was unnecessary. So here’s the story:

Having been studying for this test for several hours last night, I had came into class and sat on my desk, well prepared and confident. This was the most important Spanish test that I have taken in my whole career in high school because I had told myself that I needed to solidify my borderline A in the class. So the class sat down in their seats and patiently waited for the exam to be past out right? NO, NOT AT ALL. Instead we were given time 15 minutes of time to “study” for the exam. To me, this was mind boggling because we should already be prepared coming into class. Why did we need EXTRA time to study, cutting into our exam time. A period is about 55 minutes and cutting 20 minutes out of our time is a lot.

Next, my teacher leaves and leaves us with a substitute to pass the exam out after 15 minutes of extra studying. I remember the entire class in shock, groaning as we received the exam that consisted of  60 multiple choice questions and 40 fill in responses. However, that is not all. The test also had a listening portion to it, so the substitute teacher had to turn on the listening activity on the computer. But to our luck, she did not know how to turn it on. Time continued to fly as we sat there with the test in from of our eyes. Finally, after 10 minutes of “technical difficulties” she got it to work and we got started.

The listening activity itself took up another 10 minutes; the class was stunned when we looked at the clock and saw that we had just about 20 minutes to complete 90 more questions. Time was definitely against us. I remember just rushing and speeding through the multiple choice questions. My leg was moving up and down, shaking as time was diminishing each time I took a glance up the clock. Then with 10 questions left to do, the bell rang and the class was over. Most of the class, if not all, were still in their seats by the time the bell rang. I tried to do as much as I could left, but the sub said, “Turn your test in now, I need to go to lunch.”

I didn’t intend to be disrespectful, but I gave the teacher a death stare, thing in my head “Are you kidding me?”. Looking at my test, leaving 10 questions empty, made me sick to my stomach as I turned in my test. What a way to begin my Thanksgiving break.

Now let me briefly explain why I was even more fruited by this. My teacher had told us a week prior that this was the HARDEST and MOST DIFFICULT test of the year. She told us straight up that this was a grade killer. (Well gee, thanks for believing in us.) Basically, she gave us the hardest test in the least amount of time. 100 questions in 25 minutes was unnecessary in my opinion. Yes, there were some technical problems, but the 15 minutes in the beginning of class for extra studying wasn’t appropriate at all. Especially for long and challenging test.

Taking such a massive test in such limited time was an example of pressure from time. There was no room for a breath; many students, if not all, did not finish or they rushed and never got the opportunity to 2nd check their answers.

 

 

Leave a Reply

